Skip to main content

Ticketing

More than just ticketing: Service management with the market leader – OTRS

A modern ticketing system is much more than just a helpdesk tool. Ticketing systems form the basis for concerted customer focus and sustainable customer satisfaction. They support the entire IT department: from logging initial problems and errors to the planning and implementation of change. Possible applications include:

  • Establishing support structures
  • Illustrating customer and service information
  • Upgrading and expanding problem and change management
  • Identifying and optimising internal processes and defined workflows
  • Reporting for customers
  • Substantiating service level agreements (SLAs) for customers
  • Ensuring companies work in a more service-oriented manner

The solution for co-ordinated support

The open-source software OTRS is a web-based ticketing system that enables users to comprehensively document all customer and technical support correspondence. Issues such as incident reports, service and information requests that are provided by email, telephone and via the customer web front end can be captured, classified, stored and processed in an efficient and structured manner.

The system is available to all team members and work groups to ensure that only standardised information is released to the customer. Moreover, OTRS monitoring ensures compliance with agreed response times. The modular design of the software provides users with over 1,000 configuration options. This means OTRS can be flexibly integrated into existing structures or expanded and used as a powerful IT service management tool.

Tickets can be shared, combined, linked or passed on to other departments. End users can optionally see the relevant processing status of a ticket in the customer portal or be informed by the ticket editor at clearly defined intervals about the ticket's current status.

Expert recommendation

Even when dealing with non-IT scenarios such as facilities management, customer service or complaint management, ticketing systems add value because they enable different service areas to be mapped to a single OTRS instance.

Many public administration institutions are currently changing roles to become public service providers. As part of this process, the proposed services they will be offering are being reframed at an operational level.

Webshops, insurance and/or Internet providers use ticketing systems to offer their customers a guaranteed, documented and measurable quality of service.

The Internet is revolutionising industry. Products talk to machines and largely control the production process themselves. Accordingly, these changes require new service management solutions that meet the new requirements for integration and flexibility.

Ticketing systems ensure ITIL-compliant process handling

At the end of the 80s, ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) was adopted as the standard for ensuring IT services and resources were used more effectively. At its core, ITIL consists of a library of best practices that can be called upon as templates for data centres, and helpdesk operations.

OTRS not only follows this recognised international standard, but also supports certification projects such as ISO 27001. Although OTRS is based on ITIL, it does not necessarily require ITIL knowledge for its operation. And this is exactly what many companies are looking for:  an easy-to-use tool that fulfils all the requirements of a modern helpdesk – something that can't be achieved using Outlook and Excel.

ITIL-compliant functionalities of the OTRS ticketing system

Incident and problem management

Should an incident suddenly arise, it will be processed via the incident management feature of the software. This approach provides for quick and easy solutions (e.g. workarounds or a system reboot).  The cause of frequently reoccurring problems is intensively researched (usually by second or third-level support) and worked out via problem management. OTRS also provides corresponding ticket types for dealing with a variety of issues.

With the help of the change management system, changes worked out in this way can then be planned, discussed, tested and finally adopted into production systems.

Change management

As a rule, when changes need to be applied to a production system, they are carried out as part of a "Request for Change" (RFC). Using this approach it is possible to exactly determine who is supposed to do what, when and on which system. OTRS comes with a series of associated templates that help reduce the effort involved in carrying out this maintenance process. Plus, all changes made are directly documented in the ticketing system.

Processes

Defined work processes assist employees in carrying out their daily work. If a company has clearly documented processes, the steps for completing these processes are also clear for the employees involved. And should work stall at any point on an incident, a reminder can be issued by the system, if required. Each employee can track the current progress of the process in the OTRS system.

Practical example: Field staff member reports service outage

A member of your company's field staff contacts the helpdesk and reports that he is unable to access his network drive. The helpdesk representative logs a ticket with a description of the fault in the ticketing system. He then consults the service catalogue to find out which service is actually affected. Here, the system displays a list of all the appropriate services. The helpdesk representative selects the correct service (E.g. "VPN access") and is given information about how urgent service recovery is for this issue and what service level agreements (SLAs) are actually in place.

To resolve the problem, he then turns to the configuration management database (CMDB) where all configuration items (CIs) associated with the company's IT services are documented. Here, in addition to information about the CI's configuration, he can also find details regarding emergency plans as well as any dependencies to other CIs in the system.

By quickly referencing the monitoring system, the helpdesk representative can see that one of the parameters required for the service is displayed as having a status of "critical". A problem ticket has already been created for this particular parameter and a workaround has been released. As a result, the originally reported service issue has also been resolved. The person who reported the outage – the field staff member – now automatically receives a message that VPN access will soon be restored and so the problem is resolved.

Your advantages in using a ticketing system

Integrated IT service management helps users to efficiently process incidents

The automated allocation of requests and queries to the right individual

Presenting a unified company presence to customers and the general public regardless of the number of internal incident handlers

Incident handlers can always stay informed about how a ticket is being processed

The archive of past incidents can be used as a knowledge database

Conclusion and recommendation

Ticketing systems like OTRS have many "out-of-the-box" features, so getting started is easy. However, without good, in-depth knowledge companies and IT administrators can easy create badly configured service management systems, because setting up ITIL-compliant processes requires far more than just installing all the right components.

When applied correctly, ITIL-compliant methods can be invaluable for good service deployment. To achieve this, however, it is necessary that the tools employed (including ticketing, asset management and monitoring systems) are ITIL compliant. So it's important that decisions be made in advance about the tools to be used.

Good functional interaction between the tools is essential for the successful application of ITIL methodologies and so should receive special attention. OTRS can be seamlessly integrated into existing system landscapes. This includes being combined with CMDB and monitoring software such as openITCOCKPIT or ERP/CRM. Because of its comprehensive integration abilities, OTRS is an ideal choice for establishing an integrated enterprise service management solution.

Skip to main content

Ticketing

Mehr als Ticketing: IT Service Management mit dem Marktführer OTRS

Ein modernes Ticketsystem ist weit mehr als nur ein Tool für den Helpdesk. Ticketsysteme sind die Grundlage für eine hohe Kundenorientierung und nachhaltige Kundenzufriedenheit. Sie unterstützen die gesamte IT, angefangen bei einem aufgetretenen Fehler bis hin zur Planung und Umsetzung eines Changes. Anwendungsfälle sind:

  • Aufbau von Supportstrukturen
  • Abbildung von Kunden- und Serviceinformationen
  • Ausbau des Problem- und Change Managements
  • Erkennen und Optimieren interner Abläufe und definierter Workflows
  • Reporting für den Kunden
  • Notwendigkeit Kunden Service Level Agreements (SLAs) anzubieten
  • Anforderung serviceorientierter zu arbeiten

Lösung für einen koordinierten Support

Die Open Source Software OTRS ist ein webbasiertes Ticketsystem, mit dem in den Bereichen Kundenbetreuung und technischer Support die Korrespondenz lückenlos dokumentiert werden kann. Anfragen wie Störungsmeldungen, Service- und Informationsanfragen, die per E-Mail, Telefon und Kunden-Webfrontend gestellt werden, können strukturiert erfasst, klassifiziert, gespeichert und weiterverarbeitet werden.

Dieser Zyklus steht allen Teammitgliedern und Arbeitsgruppen zur Verfügung, so dass sichergestellt ist, dass nur einheitliche Informationen an den Kunden herausgegeben werden. Zudem überwacht OTRS die Einhaltung der versprochenen Antwortzeiten. Der modulare Aufbau der Software bietet mehr als 1.000 Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten. Damit ist es möglich OTRS flexibel in die bestehenden Strukturen zu integrieren, bis hin zur Erweiterung zum leistungsfähigen IT-Service Management Tool.

Tickets können geteilt, zusammengefasst, verlinkt oder in andere Fachabteilungen weitergegeben werden. Endanwender sehen den jeweiligen Bearbeitungsstand des Tickets optional im Kundenportal oder werden vom Bearbeiter in festlegbaren Abständen über den aktuellen Status informiert.

Expertenempfehlung

Auch bei IT-fernen Anwendungsszenarien wie im Facility Management, Kundenservice oder Beschwerdemanagement punkten Ticketsysteme: Unterschiedliche Servicebereiche lassen sich auf einer einzigen OTRS Instanz abbilden.

Zahlreiche Institutionen der öffentlichen Verwaltung befinden sich im Wandel von der Behörde zum öffentlichen Dienstleister. In diesem Zuge sind auf der operativen Ebene die angebotenen Dienstleistungen ("Services") neu auszurichten.

Webshops, Krankenkassen oder Internet Provider verwenden Ticketsysteme, um ihren Kunden eine garantierte, dokumentierte und messbare Servicequalität zu bieten.

Das Internet revolutioniert die Industrie. Produkte sprechen mit Maschinen und steuern den Produktionsablauf weitgehend selbst. Diese Veränderungen erfordern neue Service Management-Lösungen die den neuen Anforderungen an Integration und Flexibilität genügen.

Ticketsysteme bilden Prozesse nach ITIL ab

Ende  der  80er  Jahre  wurde die  Methode „ITIL“  (IT  Infrastructure  Library)  zur IT-Standardisierung verabschiedet. ITIL  besteht  im  Kern  aus  einer  Bibliothek  von  Best  Practices,  die  als Vorlage  für  den  Datacenter-  und Helpdesk-Betrieb  herangezogen werden kann.

OTRS folgt nicht nur diesem anerkannten internationalen Standard, sondern unterstützt auch bei Zertifizierungsprojekten wie z.B. ISO 27001. OTRS orientiert sich zwar an ITIL, setzt aber zur Bedienung ITIL-Kenntnisse nicht zwingend voraus. Und genau das suchen zahlreiche Unternehmen:  ein einfach zu bedienendes Tool, das alle Anforderungen an einen zeitgemäßen Helpdesk erfüllt – was sich mit Outlook und Excel nicht bewerkstelligen lässt.

ITIL-konforme Funktionalitäten im Ticketsystem OTRS

Incident und Problem Management

Ein plötzlich auftretender Vorfall (Incident) wird über das Incident Management bearbeitet. Dieser  Ansatz sieht  schnelle  und  unkomplizierte  Lösungswege  vor,  z.B.  einen  Workaround oder  Systemneustart.  Die Ursache häufig auftretender „Probleme“ wird im Problem Management durch intensive Ursachenforschung (meist im second- oder third-level-support) erarbeitet. In OTRS gibt es  dafür entsprechende Tickettypen.

Die  so  erarbeitete  Änderung  kann  anschließend  mithilfe  des  Change Managements  geplant, diskutiert, getestet und anschließend in die produktiven Systeme übernommen werden.

Change Management

Eine Änderung an einem produktiven System wird üblicherweise als „Request for Change“ (RfC) angelegt. Es wird genau festgelegt, wer was, wann und an welchem System durchführen  soll. Vorlagen, die OTRS dafür bereithält, vereinfachen den Pflegeaufwand. Alle durchgeführten Änderungen sind zudem direkt im Ticketsystem dokumentiert.

Prozesse

Definierte Arbeitsprozesse unterstützen die Mitarbeiter bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit. Gibt es einen dokumentierten Prozess, sind allen beteiligten Mitarbeitern die Arbeitsschritte klar.  Sollte der Prozess an einem Punkt stagnieren, werden sie – wenn nötig – erinnert. Jeder Mitarbeiter kann den aktuellen Fortschritt des Prozesses im OTRS-System verfolgen.

Praxisbeispiel: Außendienstler meldet Störungsfall

Ein Außendienstmitarbeiter meldet dem Helpdesk, dass er nicht auf sein Netzlaufwerk zugreifen kann. Der Helpdesk-Kollege legt ein Ticket mit einer Fehlerbeschreibung im Ticketsystem an. Die Antwort auf die Frage welcher Service betroffen ist, findet er im Servicekatalog – das System zeigt eine Liste mit den entsprechenden Services an. Der Helpdesk-Mitarbeiter wählt den richtigen Service (z.B. „VPN-Zugang“) und ihm wird angezeigt, wie dringend die Service-Wiederherstellung ist und welche Service Level Agreements (SLA) zu Grunde liegen.

Um das Problem zu lösen, wird die Configuration Management Database (CMDB) herangezogen, in der alle Configuration Items (CI), die an den IT-Services beteiligt sind, dokumentiert sind. Hier finden sich neben Angaben zur Konfiguration der CI auch Notfallpläne und Abhängigkeiten zu anderen CIs.

Mit einem Blick in das Monitoring-System, erkennt der Helpdesk-Mitarbeiter, dass ein für den Service benötigter Parameter einen „kritischen“ Zustand hat. Für diesen einzelnen Parameter wurde bereits ein Problemticket angelegt, das über einen Workaround gelöst wird. Als Folge ist der ursprünglich gemeldete Service ebenfalls gelöst. Der Melder der Störung – der Außendienstmitarbeiter – bekommt nun automatisch die Meldung zugeschickt, dass der VPN-Zugang in Kürze wieder verfügbar sein wird. Das Problem ist gelöst.

Implementierung des HelpDesk- und Ticketsystems OTRS

Ihre Vorteile beim Einsatz eines Ticketsystems

Integriertes IT-Service Management unterstützt den Anwender bei der effizienten Abarbeitung von Incidents

Automatisierte Zuordnung von Anfragen an den zuständigen Ansprechpartner

Trotz mehrerer interner Bearbeiter ein einheitlicher Auftritt des Unternehmens nach außen

Bearbeiter sind durch mitgeführte Fallhistorie immer über den kompletten Vorgang informiert

Ticket-Archiv der vergangenen Fälle ist als Wissensdatenbank nutzbar

Fazit und Empfehlung

Ticketsysteme wie OTRS besitzen viele Funktionalitäten „out-of-the-box“, der Start ist daher einfach. Ohne fundierte Kenntnisse kann man sich den Weg zum effizienten Service Management aber schnell mit Fehlkonfigurationen verbauen, denn das Abbilden ITIL-konformer Prozesse erfordert weit mehr als nur die Installation aller Komponenten.

Richtig eingesetzt, können die ITIL-Methoden wertvolle Dienste bei der Servicebereitstellung leisten. Dafür ist es aber notwendig, dass die verwendeten Tools (unter anderem Ticketsystem, Asset-Verwaltung und Monitoring-System) ITIL unterstützen. Darauf sollte man schon im Vorfeld bei der Tool-Auswahl achten.

Ebenfalls wichtig ist die funktionierende Interaktion der Tools untereinander: sie ist entscheidend für die erfolgreiche Anwendung der ITIL-Methoden und sollte daher besondere Beachtung finden. OTRS integriert sich nahtlos sowohl in bestehende Systemlandschaften als auch im Zusammenspiel mit CMDB, Monitoring Software wie openITCOCKPIT oder ERP/CRM Systemen. Durch diese umfassende Integrationsfähigkeit ist OTRS ideal für den Aufbau einer integrierten Enterprise Service Management-Lösung.

Unser gesamtes ITSM Team ist ITIL zertifiziert!


it-novum GmbH Deutschland

Hauptsitz: Edelzeller Straße 44, 36043 Fulda

Niederlassung: Siemensdamm 50, 13629 Berlin

Niederlassung: Ruhrallee 9, 44139 Dortmund

 

info@it-novum.com

+49 661 103 - 322

+49 661 103 - 597

Heap | Mobile and Web Analytics

it-novum Niederlassung Österreich

Office Park 1 / Top B02

1300 Wien-Flughafen

 

 

info@it-novum.at

+43 1 227 87 - 139

+43 1 227 87 - 200