Skip to main content

i-doit

With i-doit, companies have a software at hand that lets them set-up a CMDB using an open source tool. At the same time, by implementing i-doit, companies also have the opportunity to map out their ITIL processes and establish and build a comprehensive service management structure. The data captured can also be used to form the basis for a successful configuration, problem and event management system.

The most important areas where i-doit is used:

  • IT service management with monitoring, discovery and help desk functions
  • Technical documentation
  • License documentation
  • Contract management
  • Lifecycle management
  • Network documentation
  • Linking CMDB with facility management, digital signage, energy technology, smart metering and mobile device management

i-doit in detail

Product features and benefits

Flexibility in modifying assets

A very important feature for any good CMDB is that it should give you the ability to define how you structure your assets (these are referred to as objects in i-doit). Using i-doit, you can achieve a very high degree of granularity when deciding which categories are important to you and which aren't. If you find you're missing a particular category, you can easily this to i-doit and then assign all relevant assets to the new category.

Always in the picture – Reporting

Maintaining your infrastructure data is one thing. Actually having a comprehensive overview of this information, however, is another. Using the native i-doit reporting function, it is possible to achieve very detailed reports about all aspects of your system. This allows users to include every value that is maintained in the i-doit system.

IT security using the i-doit VIVA module

The VIVA module is based on the German Federal Office for Information Security's IT baseline protection approach (international standard ISO/IEC 27001). Using VIVA, it is possible to take the existing i-doit data in the CMDB and build an information security management system. This is a list of procedures and rules within a company that permanently define, control, maintain and continuously develop information security.

Find out more about the module

i-doit with it-novum

For many years, i-doit and it-novum have had a close and successful working partnership. During this time they have realised numerous projects with both medium-sized companies and international corporations. In doing so, an enormous amount of expertise has been gained both in the implementation of CMDB solutions as well as the linking of monitoring solutions, ticketing systems and inventory software.

Integrating third-party systems with i-doit

The openITCOCKPIT /i-doit Connector – CMDB and monitoring perfected

Using our openITCOCKPIT-integrated interface for i-doit, it's quick and easy to transfer an asset from i-doit directly into openITCOCKPIT. It is also possible to setup default assignments so that when transfers are carried out, the necessary standard checks are directly created, too – a real time saver for busy admins.

To summarise, our openITCOCKPIT/i-doit module provides the following advantages:

Free choice of which i-doit objects are included in the monitoring of openITCOCKPIT

New i-doit objects can be transferred directly into the openITCOCKPIT authorization concept

Possibility to connect several i-doit systems

The it-novum i-doit / OTRS Connector

When it comes to quickly solving IT service management issues, being able to directly view particular IT documentation information directly in your help desk system via a corresponding support ticket is a big advantage.

Thanks to the i-doit / OTRS Connector, connecting your existing system with the OTRS ticketing system and i-doit documentation software is a snap. Using the connector, many internal processes, such as the transfer of configuration items (assets and inventories) to OTRS, can be easily simplified.

The connector, which is an i-doit module, keeps CIs and service data between OTRS and i-doit in sync, with i-doit acting as the lead system. This means administrators can continue to use the advanced CMDB capabilities of i-doit – such as the visualisation of service trees, inventorying with JDisc or the ability to prepare operations or emergency management manuals – while at the same time the current CMDB remains fully available in the IT Service Management function of OTRS, with links to tickets, CIs, RFCs, change management and more.

To summarise, our i-doit / OTRS Connector provides the following advantages:

Full CMDB functionality available in OTRS

No installation in OTRS required

 

No updates for OTRS Update connector required

Freedom of choice in the information to be synchronised by i-doit

Multi-client capability

Synchronised CIs can be maintained as classes in OTRS

Skip to main content

i-doit

Mit i-doit wird Unternehmen eine Software zu Verfügung gestellt mit der eine CMDB durch ein Open Source Tool abgebildet werden kann. Zugleich besteht mit der Einführung von i-doit im Unternehmen die Möglichkeit ITIL Prozesse abzubilden und eine Servicemanagementstruktur aufzubauen. Die in diesem Zusammenhang erfassten Daten stellen eine gute Grundlage für ein erfolgreiches Configuration, Problem- und Event Management dar.

Die wichtigsten Einsatzgebiete von i-doit:

  • IT Service Management mit Monitoring, Discovery und HelpDesk
  • Technische Dokumentation
  • Lizenzdokumentation
  • Vertragsverwaltung
  • Netzwerkdokumentation
  • Lifecycle Management
  • CMDB-Kopplungen mit Facility Management, Digital Signage, Energietechnik, Smart Metering oder Mobile Device Management

Erfahren Sie mehr

Sie haben Fragen zu i-doit?

Dann wenden Sie sich jetzt an unsere Experten!

Anfrage Senden

Produktfeatures und -nutzen von i-doit

Flexibilität bei der Anpassung von Assets

Eine sehr wichtige Funktion für eine gute CMDB ist, dass dem Nutzer die Möglichkeit geboten wird die Struktur bzw. den Aufbau seiner Assets (i-doit spricht hier von Objekten) selbst zu definieren. Dies ist in i-doit in einem hohen Maße möglich. Für jedes Asset kann sehr granular definiert werden, welche Kategorien wichtig sind und welche nicht gebraucht werden. Wenn eine Kategorie fehlen sollte, kann diese ganz einfach in i-doit hinzugefügt und in allen relevanten Assets hinterlegt werden.

Immer im Bilde – Reporting mit i-doit

Daten über die Infrastruktur zu pflegen ist eine Sache. Diese im Überblick zu behalten eine ganz andere. Mit der Reporting-Funktion von i-doit können sehr detaillierte Reports zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Dabei ist es möglich jeden Wert, der in i-doit gepflegt wird, mit einfließen zu lassen.

IT-Sicherheit mit dem VIVA-Modul von i-doit

Das VIVA-Modul basiert auf dem BSI IT-Grundschutz der bei einer ISO 27001 Zertifizierung unterstützt. Direkt einen ISO 27001 Katalog einzuspielen ist allerdings nicht möglich. Hier finden Sie ein Mapping zwischen den Anforderungen der ISO27001 inkl. Anhang A auf die jeweiligen Elemente des BSI Grunschutz Katalogs:
Zuordnungstabelle ISO 27001 sowie ISO 27002 und IT-Grundschutz

Mit VIVA lässt sich aus den bereits vorhandenen Daten in der CMDB von i-doit ein Informationssicherheitsmanagementsystem, kurz ISMS aufbauen. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Aufstellung von Verfahren und Regeln innerhalb eines Unternehmens, welche die Informationssicherheit dauerhaft definieren, steuern, kontrollieren, aufrechterhalten und fortlaufend weiterentwickeln.

Weitere Informationen zum Modul

i-doit mit it-novum

i-doit und it-novum verbindet eine langjährige Partnerschaft. Innerhalb dieser Zeit wurden zahlreiche Projekte mit mittelständischen Unternehmen bis hin zu internationalen Konzernen realisiert. Dadurch wurde eine große Expertise sowohl in Bezug auf die Einführung einer CMDB-Lösung als auch bei der Anbindung an Monitoring-Lösungen, Ticketsysteme oder Inventarisierungs-Software aufgebaut.

Integration von Drittsystemen mit i-doit

Der openITCOCKPIT/i-doit Connector – Teamplay zwischen CMDB und Monitoring

Mit unserer in openITCOCKPIT integrierten Schnittstelle zu i-doit kann schnell und einfach ein Asset aus i-doit nach openITCOCKPIT überführt werden. Dabei ist es möglich Standardzuweisungen zu hinterlegen, so dass beim Übertragen direkt die nötigen Standard Checks mit hinterlegt werden und eine hohe Zeitersparnis erreicht wird.

Zusammenfassend bietet unser openITCOCKPIT/i-doit Modul folgende Vorteile:

Freie Wahl welche i-doit Objekte ins Monitoring von openITCOCKPIT übernommen werden

Neue i-doit Objekte können direkt ins openITCOCKPIT Berechtigungskonzept übernommen werden

Möglichkeit mehrere i-doit Systeme anzubinden

Der it-novum i-doit/OTRS Connector

Um Probleme im IT Service Management schneller lösen zu können, ist es von Vorteil, spezielle Informationen aus der IT-Dokumentation direkt im Helpdesk-System, also im entsprechenden Support-Ticket einsehen zu können.

Das Ticketsystem OTRS mit der IT-Dokumentationssoftware i-doit zu einem System zu verbinden ist dank des i-doit/OTRS Connectors kein Problem. Der Connector ermöglicht es, viele interne Prozesse zu vereinfachen, wie z.B. die Übertragung von Configuration Items (Assets/Inventare) nach OTRS.

Der als i-doit-Modul realisierte Connector hält CIs (Assets/Inventare) und Servicedaten zwischen OTRS und i-doit synchron. Dabei dient i-doit als das führende System. Administratoren verwenden weiterhin die erweiterten CMDB-Funktionen von i-doit wie z.B. Visualisierung von Servicebäumen, Inventarisierung mit JDisc oder die Möglichkeit, Betriebs- oder Notfallhandbücher zu erstellen. Gleichzeitig steht die aktuelle CMDB vollumfänglich im IT Service Management von OTRS zur Verfügung: das heißt, es sind Verknüpfungen mit Tickets, CIs, RFCs, Change und vieles mehr möglich.

CMDB voll funktional in OTRS verfügbar

Keine Installation auf OTRS-Seite notwendig

Keine Aktualisierung des Connectors bei OTRS-Updates nötig

Freie Wahl der zu synchronisierenden Informationen von i-doit nach OTRS

Mandantenfähigkeit

Synchronisierte CIs können als Klassen in OTRS gepflegt werden

Zusammenfassend bietet unser i-doit/OTRS Connector folgende Vorteile:

Sie haben Fragen zu i-doit?

Dann wenden Sie sich jetzt an unsere Experten!

Anfrage Senden

Unser gesamtes ITSM Team ist ITIL zertifiziert!