Skip to main content

Business Process Management

By having IT-supported mapping and automation for your business processes you can make your existing processes more efficient, establish new business models and digital services while at the same time remaining flexible and agile in a rapidly changing business environment.

To achieve these goals, our BPM experts can provide you with

  • BPM technology selection, BPM design and implementation
    We help you develop a customised BPM approach, select a proven, business-critical, open-source BPM suite and develop a solid implementation plan. We don't consider just the functional aspects, but also requirements that extend far beyond these, such as governance or the intended operating model and how these will impact your use of the BPM technology/workflow engine.
  • Development of BPM-based software solutions
    The possibilities for applying BPM technology and workflow engines are many and various. We help to implement sustainable processes/workflows and always pay attention to best practices, e.g. design patterns in process modelling. In achieving this, we work either with your IT team, IT development or the given business department. Depending on how your projects are organised, we can provide project managers, business analysts, consultants, developers or operation and DevOps specialists as needed.
  • BPM operation and needs-based further development
    Whether you're working with regulatory requirements, pushing for continuous improvements or dealing with a changing market environment, regularly reviewing and developing your process landscape is essential. This includes not only further development and adaptation, but also the close monitoring of processes. We can support you with any operational issues you may have and can help you find the most appropriate operating model. We can even help you establish end-to-end monitoring of (distributed) processes. In this way, we ensure your targeted results, support your CIP and bring transparency to complex IT landscapes.

The areas where BPM technology can be used are many and various. We support you in the end-to-end implementation of business processes, as well as in the integration of BPM and RPA or in orchestrating microservices.

End-to-end business processes

The integrated digitalisation of business processes often meets with a variety of challenges, some of which depend on the application that's involved. This includes, for example, the integration and orchestration of various data sources and IT applications provided in-house or by third-party providers as well as the integration of external user groups and customers related to a given process.

When digitalising business processes, BPM technology is the link between business processes and heterogeneous IT application/service landscapes. In addition, BPM enables you to take an agile approach so that processes can be further developed in a structured, evolutionary manner and adapted to regulatory or market-driven requirements as part of your company's continuous improvement process.

BPM integration with RPA

The use of Robotic Process Automation (RPA) to automate manual, time-consuming processes is constantly increasing. RPA enables software robots to automate processes in systems that cannot easily be integrated using an interface (API).

By connecting and integrating RPA and BPM, it is possible to comprehensively map your business processes. And through the use of technical standards such as BPMN 2.0, it is possible to implement and monitor different connections according to your requirements. For example, a software robot or a complete robot path planning and simulation platform can automatically process individual work packages as part of a larger process.

Microservices orchestration

Over the last few years, large-scale, microservice architectures have become increasingly popular. While microservice-based architectures offer many advantages, such as independent development and scaling, new challenges and complexities still arise. In addition to controlling the overall flow, i.e. the interaction of the individual microservices, this also includes operational aspects such as end-to-end monitoring or efficient error handling.

BPM technology can address these challenges and complexities without sacrificing the benefits of a microservice architecture. This not only addresses technically useful and necessary aspects such as comprehensive monitoring or the orchestration of services. The use of an ISO standard such as BPMN 2.0 makes it possible to visualise your processes while at the same time involving your company's various departments and their associated expertise.

Skip to main content

Business Process Management

Eine IT-gestützte Abbildung und Automatisierung von Geschäftsprozessen ermöglicht es bestehende Prozesse effizienter zu machen, neue Geschäftsmodelle und digitale Services zu etablieren sowie in einem schnell wandelnden Geschäftsumfeld flexibel und agil zu bleiben.

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen leisten unsere BPM-Experten für Sie

  • BPM-Technologieauswahl, BPM-Einführung und Konzeption
    Wir helfen Ihnen ein passgenaues BPM-Vorgehen zu entwickeln, eine im geschäftskritischen Einsatz erprobte Open Source BPM-Suite auszuwählen und einen soliden Einführungsplan zu erarbeiten. Dabei berücksichtigen wir nicht nur funktionale Aspekte, sondern auch darüberhinausgehende Anforderungen wie z.B. Governance oder das angestrebte Operating Model und dessen Auswirkung auf den Einsatz der BPM-Technologie/Workflow-Engine.
  • Entwicklung von BPM-basierten Softwarelösungen
    Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von BPM-Technologie und Workflow-Engines sind vielfältig. Wir helfen dabei zukunftsfähige Prozesse/Workflows umzusetzen und achten dabei stets auf Best Practices, z.B. Design Pattern in der Prozessmodellierung. Dabei arbeiten wir entweder mit der IT und IT-Entwicklung oder der Fachabteilung zusammen. Abhängig von der Projektorganisation bringen wir bedarfsgerecht Projektleiter, Business Analysten, Berater, Entwickler oder Betriebs- und DevOps-Spezialisten in die Zusammenarbeit ein.
  • BPM-Betrieb und bedarfsgerechte Weiterentwicklung
    Ob regulatorische Anforderung, kontinuierliche Verbesserung oder ein sich änderndes Marktumfeld: Das regelmäßige auf den Prüfstand stellen und weiterentwickeln der Prozesslandschaft ist essentiell. Dazu gehört nicht nur die die Weiterentwicklung und Adaption, sondern auch eine engmaschige Überwachung von Prozessen. Wir unterstützen Sie bei Betriebsfragen und der Findung des passenden Operating Models, genauso wie bei der Etablierung einer End-to-End-Überwachung von (verteilten) Prozessen. Dadurch sichern wir erzielte Ergebnisse ab, unterstützen den KVP und bringen Transparenz in komplexe IT-Landschaften.

Die Einsatzgebiete von BPM-Technologie sind vielfältig. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der End-to-End Umsetzung von Geschäftsprozessen, genauso wie bei der Integration von BPM und RPA oder der Orchestrierung von Microservices.

End-to-End Geschäftsprozesse

Die ganzheitliche Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen geht mit verschiedenen, teils vom Anwendungsfall abhängigen Herausforderungen einher. Dazu gehören bspw. die Integration und Orchestrierung unterschiedlichster im Haus oder durch Third-Party-Provider bereitgestellter Datenquellen und IT-Applikationen oder aber die prozessuale Einbindung externer Anwendergruppen und Kunden.

BPM-Technologie bildet bei der Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen das Bindeglied zwischen fachlichem Prozess und heterogener IT-Anwendungs-/Servicelandschaft. Zudem ermöglicht es BPM eine agile Vorgehensweise zu etablieren, sodass Prozesse evolutionär weiterentwickelt und im Sinne eines kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozesses an regulative oder marktgetriebene Anforderungen adaptiert werden können.

BPM-Integration mit RPA

Der Einsatz von Robotic Process Automation zur Automatisierung von manuellen, zeitintensiven Abläufen nimmt stetig zu. RPA ermöglicht es über Softwareroboter Abläufe zu automatisieren, die in Systemen stattfinden, welche nicht ohne Weiteres über eine Schnittstelle (API) integriert werden können.

Durch die Verbindung und Integration von RPA und BPM können Geschäftsprozesse ganzheitlich abgebildet werden. Technische Standards wie z.B. BPMN 2.0 ermöglichen es bedarfsgerecht unterschiedliche Anbindungen durchzuführen und zu überwachen. So kann bspw. eine Softwareroboter oder eine komplette Roboterstrecke als Teil eines größeren Prozesses einzelne Arbeitspakete automatisiert abarbeiten.

Microservices Orchestration

Innerhalb der letzten Jahre sind umfangreiche, Microservice-Architekturen zunehmend populär geworden. Während microservice-basierte Architekturen mit vielen Vorteilen verbunden sind, z.B. einer voneinander unabhängigen Entwicklung und Skalierung, entstehenden zugleich neue Herausforderungen und Komplexitäten. Dazu gehören neben der Steuerung des Gesamtflusses, sprich dem Zusammenspiel der einzelnen Microservices z.B. auch betriebliche Aspekte wie eine durchgängige End-to-End-Überwachung oder eine effiziente Fehlerbehandlung.

Mit BPM-Technologie kann diesen Herausforderungen und Komplexitäten entgegengewirkt werden, ohne dass die Vorteile einer Microservice-Architektur aufgehoben werden. Dabei werden nicht nur technisch sinnvolle und notwendige Aspekte wie ein übergreifendes Monitoring oder die Orchestrierung von Services adressiert. Die Nutzung eines ISO-Standards wie BPMN 2.0 ermöglicht zugleich eine Visualisierung vorzunehmen und damit die fachliche Klammer zu schaffen.


Brian Kurbjuhn
Director Enterprise Information Management

Sie haben Fragen zum Thema Business Process Management?


Anrede:

Vorname*:

Name*:

Firma*:

Job Titel*:

Telefon*:

Anliegen*:

Geschäftliche E-Mail*: