Skip to main content

Stream Analytics

Real time analyses for the Internet of things (IoT)

Based on current forecasts, by the year 2020, 24-30 billion electronic devices will be connected to the Internet. Deployed into this IoT scenario, Stream Analytics allows you to analyse queries in real-time for data streams generated by smartphones, consumer electronics, sensors, websites, social media, infrastructure systems and connected cars.

With Stream Analytics, decisions are no longer based on human interpretations and evaluations, but on automated, real-time calculations. Furthermore, considerably more information and thus more useable knowledge are taken into account, because data from all available internal and external sources (so-called data silos) are brought together and combined (correlation-based Big Data analyses).

Where is Stream Analytics used?

  • Implementation of real-time analyses for Internet of Things (IoT) solutions
  • Implementation of mission-critical forecast results with a high degree of speed and reliability (stream of millions of events per second)
  • Generation of real-time dashboards and alerts using data generated by devices and applications
  • Using machine learning spot pattern recognition undetectable by humans, (e.g. for real-time fraud detection)
  • Personalised stock trading analyses and alarms as offered by financial institutions
  • Warnings in CRM programs if customers do not respond within a given time window

In order to be successful in highly competitive markets, companies need a flexible, reliable and cost-effective way to perform such event-driven real-time streaming data analyses themselves.

Expert opinion

Real-Time versus Streaming Analytics

It is important to distinguish between "real-time analytics" and "Streaming Analytics".

Normally, "real-time business analytics" refers to a system that provides answers within a certain narrowly defined time frame. Exchange systems are a classic example of these types of systems. Results are delivered within a guaranteed response time or as a result of a fixed deadline.

Streaming Analytics, however, is different. Stream processing refers to the on-going calculation of data that is continuously flowing through a system. Unlike "real-time analysis", there are no specific deadlines or tolerances used in processing the stream. The output of a stream processing system does not have a fixed time frame.

Analytics for the IoT era

When working with IoT analytics, real-time Streaming Analytics plays a central role in the overall process. IoT analytics requires actions that record events in real-time, correlate different data streams and compare streams with historical values and models. It detects anomalies, transforms incoming data, triggers an alarm when a specific error or state occurs in the stream and displays this real-time data in a dashboard.

Scenario 1: Real-time fraud detection in telecommunications

Telecommunications companies have to deal with a large volume of incoming call data. A typical profile of requirements for a fraud detection analytics system might look like this:

  • Reduce the amount of incoming data to a manageable quantity and provide customer insights based on their usage time and geographical region
  • Recognise SIM card fraud in real-time (e.g. simultaneous calls from the same person, but in different geographical regions) so that the customer can be informed quickly or the service can be switched off immediately

The technology for such real-time anomaly detection as used in this telecommunications example would be equally suitable for detecting fraud such as you might find in credit card or identity theft scenarios.

Scenario 2: Analysing process data from IoT devices

Market-ready Industry 4.0 applications such as Predictive Maintenance have strongly placed the manufacturing industry's focus on production IT: machines and production equipment that independently exchange information, control each other, and provide independent maintenance make factories smarter. Take, for example, an industrial automation company that has completely automated its manufacturing process. Its machines have sensors that record data streams in real time. In this scenario, a production manager needs real-time views of the sensor data so he can search for patterns and react accordingly. This is where Pentaho comes in, because it can be used to find interesting patterns in the incoming data stream.

Your benefits

Companies that can react to the incoming flood of data in real time dramatically improve their efficiency and distinguish themselves on the market. Pentaho Stream Analytics gives you this power, because it can process millions of events per second.

By combining descriptive and predictive analyses with prescriptive analyses (and starting from a predefined goal), the necessary measures to achieve these goals can be automated using Streaming Analysis.

The results of these exact, automated real-time decisions are independently integrated into the intelligent front ends and operational processes by the system. Machine learning based on, for example, Apache Spark, allows continuous optimisation of processes in all conceivable areas – completely without any human intervention, if desired.

Our services

The combination of streaming analytics in real-time with predictive analytics based on historical analyses allows companies to make decisions and take actions that dramatically increase the business value of IoT use cases.

The high volume of real-time data provides great potential for new insights into business processes that can be used to increase revenue, reduce costs and risks and increase operational efficiency.

Skip to main content

Stream Analytics

Real-time Berechnungen für das Internet of Things (IoT)

Prognosen gehen davon aus, dass bis zum Jahr 2020 zwischen 24-30 Milliarden elektronische Geräte mit dem Internet verbunden sein werden. Eingesetzt in diesem IoT Szenario ermöglicht Stream Analytics Analyseabfragen in Echtzeit für Datenströme, die von Smartphones, Konsumerelektronik, Sensoren, Websites, Social Media, Infrastruktursystemen oder connected cars erzeugt werden.

Bei Stream Analytics basieren die Entscheidungen nicht mehr auf menschlichen Interpretationen und Einschätzungen, sondern auf in Echtzeit automatisierten Berechnungen. Darüber hinaus werden wesentlich mehr Informationen und damit mehr verfügbares Wissen berücksichtigt, da Daten aus allen verfügbaren in- und externen Quellen (sog. Datensilos) zusammengeführt und kombiniert werden (korrelationsbasierte Big Data-Analysen).

Wo wird Stream Analytics eingesetzt

  • Ausführung von real-time Analysen für Internet of Things (IoT) Lösungen
  • Einsatz für unternehmenskritische Vorhersageergebnisse (predictable) mit hoher Zuverlässigkeit und Geschwindigkeit (Stream von Millionen Events pro Sekunde)
  • Generieren von real-time Dashboards und Warnmeldungen mit Daten die von Devices und Anwendungen erzeugt werden
  • Mittels Maschine Learning Muster erkennen, die Menschen nie gefunden hätten, z.B. bei der Echtzeit Betrugserkennung
  • von Finanzinstituten angebotene personalisierte Aktien-Tradinganalysen und –alarme
  • Ausgabe von Warnungen in CRM Programmen, wenn Kunden nicht innerhalb eines Zeitfensters reagieren

Um in hart umkämpften Märkten Erfolg zu haben, benötigen Unternehmen eine flexible, zuverlässige und kostengünstige Möglichkeit solche Ereignis-gesteuerten real-time-streaming-data-Analysen selbst durchzuführen.

Expertenempfehlung

Real-Time versus Streaming Analytics

Es ist wichtig zwischen “real time analytics” und “streaming analytics” zu unterscheiden.

Normalerweise bezieht man sich bei “real-time business analytics” auf ein System, bei dem Antworten innerhalb eines bestimmten eng definierten Zeitrahmens gewährleistet sind. Börsensysteme sind ein klassisches Beispiel für diese Art von Systemen. Das Ergebnis wird in einer garantierten Antwortzeit oder als Ergebnis einer festgelegten Deadline geliefert.

Streaming Analytics dagegen ist anders. Die Stream-Verarbeitung bezieht sich auf die laufende Berechnung von Daten die kontinuierlich durch ein System fließen. Im Gegensatz zu "Realtime -Analysen" gibt es keine spezifischen Fristen oder Toleranzen in der Verarbeitung des Streams. Der Output eines Stream-Verarbeitungssystem ist nicht auf eine feste Frist festgelegt.

Analytics für das IoT Zeitalter

Bei IoT Analytics spielt Echtzeit-Streaming Analytics eine zentrale Rolle im Gesamtprozess. IoT Analytics erfordert Maßnahmen die Ereignisse in Echtzeit aufnehmen, unterschiedliche Datenstreams korrelieren oder Streams mit historischen Werten und Modellen vergleichen. Sie erkennt Anomalien, tranformiert eingehende Daten, löst einen Alarm aus wenn ein bestimmter Fehler oder Zustand im Stream auftaucht und zeigt diese real-time Daten in einem Dashboard an. 

Szenario 1: Real-time Betrugserkennung in der Telekommunikation

Telekommunikationsunternehmen müssen ein großes Datenvolumen für eingehende Anrufe bewältigen. Ein typisches Anforderungsprofil für ein Analytics System für eine Betrugserkennung könnte so aussehen:

  • Reduziere die einströmende Datenmenge auf eine überschaubare Menge und liefere Einblicke über den Kunden bezogen auf deren Nutzungszeit und geografische Region
  • Erkenne SIM-Kartenbetrug in Echtzeit (z.B. gleichzeitige Anrufe von der gleichen Person, aber aus geografisch verschiedenen Regionen), sodass der Kunde schnell informiert werden kann oder der Service gleich abgeschaltet wird.

Die Technologie einer solchen Echtzeit-Anomalie-Erkennung wie in diesem Telekommunikationsbeispiel eignet sich gleichermaßen für jede Art von Betrugserkennung wie sie ebenfalls z.B. bei Kreditkarten- oder Identitätsdiebstahl Szenarien vorkommen.

Szenario 2: Analyse der Prozeßdaten von IoT Geräten

Marktreife Industrie 4.0-Anwendungen wie Predictive Maintenance haben den Fokus der Fertigungsindustrie stark auf die Produktions-IT gelenkt: Maschinen und Produktionsmittel, die eigenständig Informationen austauschen, sich gegenseitig steuern und selbstständig warten, machen Fabriken immer smarter. Ein Unternehmen aus der industriellen Automation hat seinen Herstellungsprozess komplett automatisiert. Die Maschinen besitzen Sensoren, die Datenströme in Echzeit aufzeichnen. In diesem Szenario benötigt ein Produktionsleiter Real-time Ansichten der Sensordaten um nach Mustern zu suchen und entsprechend zu reagieren. Als Lösung kommt Pentaho zum Einsatz um interessante Muster im eingehenden Datenstrom herauszufinden.

Ihr Vorteil

Unternehmen die auf sie einströmende Datenflut in Echtzeit reagieren können verbessern ihre Effizienz dramatisch und differenzieren sich im Markt. Stream Analytics mit Pentaho verarbeitet Millionen von Ereignissen (Events) pro Sekunde.

Durch die Kombination von beschreibender (deskriptive) und vorhersagender (prädiktive) mit präskriptiven Analysen, können mit Streaming Analysis - ausgehend von einem vorab definierten Ziel - die notwendigen Maßnahmen automatisiert ergriffen werden.

Die Ergebnisse dieser exakten, automatisierten Echtzeit-Entscheidungen werden vom System selbstständig in intelligente Frontends und operative Prozesse integriert. Machine Learning auf Basis von z.B. Apache Spark ermöglicht eine kontinuierliche Optimierung von Prozessen in allen denkbaren Bereichen – wenn gewünscht, vollkommen ohne menschliches Eingreifen.

Unsere Leistung

Die Kombination von Streaming Analytics in Echtzeit mit Vorhersagen (Predictive Analytic) die auf historischen Analysen beruhen, ermöglicht Unternehmen Entscheidungen zu treffen und Maßnahmen zu ergreifen die den Geschäftswert von IoT Anwendungsfällen drastisch erhöhen.

Das hohe Volumen von Echtzeitdaten bietet ein großes Potenzial für neue Einblicke in Geschäftsprozesse, die genutzt werden können, um Einnahmen zu erhöhen, Kosten und Risiken zu senken oder die Betriebseffizienz zu erhöhen.

Sie haben Fragen zum Stream Analytics?

Dann wenden Sie sich jetzt an unsere Experten!

Anfrage Senden