Skip to main content

Predictive Analytics

From Big Data to Predictive Analytics

Dashboards and reporting systems provide valuable information for managers. However, there is often a lack of connection to business decisions, process optimisations, customer experiences or other actions based on predictive findings. This is usually because companies must look to the future in order to be prepared for the rapidly approaching challenges they face.

Predictive analytics starts where OLAP or reporting ends. Instead of just analysing the existing situation, predictive analytics uses algorithms to find patterns in data to predict similar results in the future.

Winning with predictive analytics: 6 examples from corporate practice

Predictive analytics allows you to gain completely new insights into customers and business processes. New assumptions on customer loyalty and better planning of future challenges lead to increasing sales potential. The company also receives inspiration for completely new products.

Predictive analytics is successfully used in these areas:

  1. Real-time fraud detection
    Algorithms automatically detect irregularities in payment transactions. Suspicious business transactions are automatically stopped and manually checked.
  2. Predictive maintenance
    The goal is to move from downtime-related repairs to preventive maintenance. For this purpose, algorithms perform on-going analyses of machine behaviour and also include historical data. In this way, the appropriate time for the next inspection can be calculated and the required spare parts kept in stock.
  3. Reducing waste (predictive quality)
    By parameterising the production stages, predictive analytics enables faulty products to be identified early and removed from the production process. It is important that suitable criteria based on samples from sensor data indicating a quality defect are known.
  4. Identifying dissatisfied customers (churn management)
    Predicting which customers will choose to migrate away from a business in the near future is becoming increasingly important for companies. For example, telecommunications companies can use customer data such as calls placed, minutes used, number of SMS messages sent, average billing amounts and hundreds of other variables to find models that predict which customers are likely to switch operators.
  5. Improving sales forecasts
    Predictive analytics enables a production company to better estimate the demand for individual products and plan production accordingly. The analysis results are used to optimally adjust production and storage capacities as well as logistics. Problems caused by excessive storage or overproduction are avoided.
  6. Increasing good payment behaviour
    Unpaid invoices from suppliers and business partners are an issue for every company. Experience of the conditions under which customers pay on time (e.g. through discounts) is incorporated into cash forecasting and thus helps to improve the company's liquidity through faster invoice payment.

Our approach to predictive analytics projects

[] Predictive Analytics
  1. Kick-off workshop with experts and decision-makers to discuss what questions are to be answered with predictive analytics and determine what data is required to do this.
  2. Definition of a concrete target with key figures (e.g. increase sales by a total of X, reduce shortfalls) that need to be achieved with the help of the forecasts.
  3. Selection/trimming of data sets and combination with external data.
  4. Creating a first evaluation of the data in corresponding prediction models by means of a pilot project/prototype.
  5. Continuous refinement, combination and evaluation of models and analytical methods to improve forecasting quality.
  6. Finally, the integration of the new analytical methods into the existing systems.

Expert recommendation

Predictive analytics is a continuous, iterative process. The models used continue to improve as use progresses with predictions becoming more and more precise as a result. Companies should start with a smaller project and then expand their solution step by step.

Download in deep information now

Index

  • Companies should consider the following when implementing a predictive analytics solution
    • Prerequisite: High-performance database infrastructure
    • Selection of data records
    • Methodology
  • The six steps of predictive analytics
  • Successfully translating insights gained into actual business practice
    Predictive Analytics
    Request Document

    Salutation:

    First name*:

    Last name*:

    Organization*:

    Job Title*:

    Phone*:

    E-Mail*:

Skip to main content

Predictive Analytics

Von Big Data zu Predictive Analytics

Dashboards und Reporting bieten wertvolle Informationen für Manager. Oft fehlt die Verbindung zu Geschäftsentscheidungen, Prozessoptimierungen, Kundenerfahrungen oder anderen Aktionen auf Basis von prädiktiven Erkenntnissen. Denn Unternehmen müssen heute in die Zukunft blicken, um für die immer schneller kommenden Herausforderungen gerüstet zu sein.

Predictive Analytics setzt da an, wo OLAP oder Reporting aufhören. Anstatt nur die bestehende Situation zu analysieren, versucht Predictive Analytics mit Hilfe von Algorithmen, Muster in Daten zu finden, um ähnliche Ergebnisse in der Zukunft vorhersagen zu können.

Mit Predictive Analytics gewinnen: 6 Beispiele aus der Unternehmenspraxis

Mit Predictive Analytics lassen sich ganz neue Erkenntnisse über Kunden und Geschäftsprozesse gewinnen. Neue Annahmen zur Kundenbindung sowie die bessere Planbarkeit von zukünftigen Herausforderungen führen zu steigenden Umsatzpotenzialen. Das Unternehmen erhält darüber hinaus Inspiration für komplett neue Produkte.

Predictive Analytics wird erfolgreich in diesen Bereichen eingesetzt:

  1. Betrug in Echtzeit aufdecken (fraud detection)
    Algorithmen erkennen automatisch Unregelmäßigkeiten im Zahlungsverkehr. Verdächtige Geschäftsvorgänge werden automatisch angehalten und manuell geprüft.
  2. Wartungszeitpunkt vorhersagen (predictive maintenance)
    Von der ausfallbedingten Reparatur zur vorbeugenden Instandhaltung zu gelangen ist das Ziel. Dazu analysieren Algorithmen permanent das Maschinenverhalten und beziehen dafür auch historische Daten ein. Dadurch wird der geeignete Zeitpunkt für die nächste Inspektion berechnet und auch die benötigten Ersatzteile auf Lager vorgehalten.
  3. Ausschuss verringern (predictive quality)
    Über eine Parametrisierung der Produktionsstufen ermöglicht Predictive Analytics, fehlerhafte Produkte frühzeitig zu identifizieren und aus dem Produktionsprozess zu nehmen. Voraussetzung: Die geeigneten Kriterien anhand von Mustern aus Sensordaten sind bekannt, die auf einen Qualitätsmangel hinweisen.
  4. Unzufriedene Kunden erkennen (churn management)
    Vorherszuagen, welche Kunden in nächster Zeit abwandern werden, wird für Unternehmen immer wichtiger. Beispielsweise können Telekommunikationsunternehmen Kundendaten wie getätigte Anrufe, genutzte Minuten, Anzahl der gesendeten SMS, durchschnittliche Rechnungsbeträge und hunderte anderer Variablen verwenden, um Modelle zu finden, die voraussagen, welche Kunden wahrscheinlich den Betreiber wechseln wollen.
  5. Absatzprognosen verbessern
    Mithilfe von Predictive Analytics ist ein Produktionsunternehmen in der Lage, die Nachfrage nach einzelnen Produkten besser abzuschätzen und die Herstellung entsprechend zu planen. Die Analyseergebnisse werden dazu genutzt, die Produktions- und Lagerkapazitäten sowie die Logistik optimal anzupassen. Probleme durch eine zu große Lagerhaltung oder Überproduktion werden vermieden.
  6. Zahlungsmoral erhöhen
    Offene Forderungen an Lieferanten und Geschäftspartner sind für jedes Unternehmen ein Thema. Erfahrungen, unter welchen Bedingungen Kunden fristgerecht zahlen, z.B. durch Skonti, fließen in das Cash-Forecasting mit ein und helfen so, durch eine schnellere Rechnungszahlung die Liquidität des Unternehmens zu verbessern.


Stefan Müller
Director Big Data Analytics

Sie haben Fragen zu Predictive Analytics?

"Kunden schöpfen bei Weitem noch nicht das Potenzial ihrer Daten für Predictive Analytics aus. Wo wir solche Projekte durchgeführt haben, ist die Kundenzufriedenheit stark gestiegen."

Anfrage Senden

Unsere Vorgehensweise bei Predictive-Analytics-Projekten

Predictive Analytics
  1. Kick-off-Workshop mit Fachexperten und Entscheidungsträgern, um zu besprechen, welche Fragen mit Predictive Analytics beantwortet werden sollen und Festlegung, welche Daten dafür benötigt werden.
  2. Definition eines konkreten Ziels mit Kennzahlen (z.B. Umsatz um Summe x steigern, Fehlmenge reduzieren), das mit Hilfe der Prognosen erreicht werden soll.
  3. Auswahl/Zuschneiden der Datensätze und Kombination mit externen Daten.
  4. Mittels eines Pilotprojekt/Prototyp eine erste Auswertung der Daten in entsprechenden Vorhersagemodellen.
  5. Laufende Verfeinerung, Kombination und Evaluierung der Modelle und Analysemethoden, um die Prognosequalität zu verbessern.
  6. Abschließend die Integration der neuen analytischen Methoden in die bestehenden Systeme.

Expertenempfehlung

Predictive Analytics ist ein kontinuierlicher, iterativer Prozess. Die eingesetzten Modelle verbessern sich durch den fortschreitenden Einsatz immer weiter und die Vorhersagen werden dadurch immer präziser. Unternehmen sollten mit einem kleineren Projekt starten und die Lösung dann Schritt für Schritt erweitern.

Jetzt Expertenwissen abrufen

Inhalt

  • Darauf sollten Unternehmen bei der Implementierung einer Predictive Analytics-Lösung achten
    • Voraussetzung: Leistungsstarke Datenbank-Infrastruktur
    • Auswahl der Datensätze
    • Methodik
  • Die sechs Schritte der prädiktiven Analytik
  • Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse erfolgreich in die Geschäftspraxis übertragen
    Anrede:

    Vorname*:

    Name*:

    Firma*:

    Job Titel*:

    Telefon*:

    E-Mail*: