Skip to main content

Data Warehouse

Agile Data Warehouse with Data Vault

A Data Warehouse is a software architecture that for many years has been helping companies recover valuable knowledge from their different IT systems. The reality of the situation in which this technology is being implemented, however, has changed dramatically in recent years: These days, many companies are producing disproportionately more data and the associated reaction rates for analysing this information has been drastically shortened. Simultaneously, the thirst for knowledge on the part of companies and organisations has been increasing. This means classic Data Warehouse approaches are soon driven their limits. Data Vault promises to fulfil these new requirements and offers a promising approach to enhance and modernise the traditional Data Warehouse concept.

The limits of traditional Data Warehouses

The limits of traditional Data Warehouses

When faced with extremely high data volumes, scaling a Data Warehouse can be very difficult. And for companies using commercial database software may also result in high licensing costs. This acts as a deterrent for many companies, which is why they fail to analyse their data and make use of the knowledge it contains.

Because more and more data in non-standard formats is becoming the focus of analysis, relational databases can quickly be pushed to their limits.

To satisfy these new demands, new technologies are being brought into play.

Data Warehouse modernization with data vault

Data vault is the current answer to many challenges that data warehouse architects face, because the innovative data warehouse modeling promises timely developments and an faster time-to-market.

Especially companies that have to load large volumes of data in a short time and companies that develop their business intelligence applications in an agile way benefit greatly from the data vault methodology.

The business value behind the data vault concept:

  • Massive reduction in development time when business requirements are implemented
  • Faster return on investment for DWH set-up / modernization
  • Management and adherence of compliance requirements (Basel, BCBS 239, etc.)
  • 100% auditability through historization and traceability of all data up to the source system
  • Reporting date related evaluations: data from archived data can be displayed / restored for the desired reporting date. Report statuses can be compared with each other.

To take advantage of data vault, it is not necessary to completely rebuild an existing data warehouse architecture. It is possible to build new aspects of a data warehouse solution, with concepts and methods of the Data Vault and without losing the existing components. This is feasible by clearly assigning which areas are located where in the architecture. Also the partial use of data vault is possible.


Stefan Müller
Director Big Data Analytics & IoT

Are you interested in a pilot project? We implement your special business case with Data Vault.


Salutation:

First Name*:

Last Name*:

Company*:

Job Title*:

Phone*:

Request*:

Business e-mail*:

Enhancing Data Warehouse with Hadoop, NoSQL & more

A number of technological approaches have been developed to overcome the limitations of the RDBM system: NoSQL databases, Apache Hadoop, and analytical databases.

Hadoop as a Data Warehouse platform

Hadoop as a Data Warehouse platform

Apache Hadoop takes up where other, traditional Data Warehouse systems have reached their limits. The essential problem with using conventional Data Warehousing technologies is the rapid rise in operational costs when processing large amounts of data. In addition, more and more unstructured data is being produced that just does not fit into the logic of a standard Data Warehouse. Hadoop is not a database. Instead, it consists of and relies on the distributed file system HDFS and the MapReduce framework for processing data.

Your benefits

Data Warehouse

Comprehensive view of enterprise data

Analyses of integrated sources of data

Time savings through standardised access to data

Automated and standardised determination of key metrics

Knowledge gains by linking information (data mining)

Company data comparable over time

Data Vault

Time Traveling (reporting date related evaluations)

Auditing capability due to historization of all data stored in the DWH

Near-real time loading thanks to high parallelizability

Seamless integration of NoSQL/unstructured data

Data model easily extendable for all subject areas

Automatable ETL templates available

Our services

Design and modelling of a Data Warehouse

As an experienced consulting company in the BI sector, we utilise powerful open source tools like Pentaho Data Integration (PDI) to develop the extraction, transformation and loading (ETL) processes you need. At the database level, we use interesting technologies such as NoSQL, PostgreSQL and Neo4j. These technologies enable us to implement complex requirements.

Development, deployment and operation of data vaults

With our Pentaho Data Vault Framework, we offer a quick and easy way to implement a data warehouse with Data Vault. You are 2-5x faster when building an agile data warehouse. Not only do you save time, you are also faster time-to-market.


Stefan Müller
Director Big Data Analytics

Are you planning a DWH project or do you want to modernize your data warehouse?


Salutation:

First Name*:

Last Name*:

Company*:

Job Title*:

Phone*:

Request*:

Business e-mail*:

Pentaho from Hitachi Vantara is the leading software for data integration and big data analytics. Hitachi Vantara offers a comprehensive solution portfolio for Big Data, Internet of Things and Cloud. it-novum is Hitachi Vantara's Big Data Insights and IoT partner and the largest Pentaho implementation and training partner in EMEA.

Skip to main content

Data Warehouse

Agiles Data Warehouse mit Data Vault

Data Warehouse (abgekürzt DWH) ist eine Softwarearchitektur, die Unternehmen seit vielen Jahren hilft, wertvolles Wissen aus ihren unterschiedlichen IT-Systemen zu bergen. Die Realität, in der diese Technologie eingesetzt wird, hat sich aber in jüngster Vergangenheit stark geändert: Heute erzeugen viele Unternehmen überproportional mehr Daten und die Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit für die Auswertung dieser Informationen hat sich drastisch verkürzt. Gleichzeitig nimmt der Wissensdurst von Organisationen und Unternehmen zu. Der klassische Data Warehouse-Ansatz stößt in diesem Umfeld schnell an seine Grenzen. Data Vault verspricht, den neuen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden und bietet einen vielversprechenden Ansatz, um das althergebrachte Data Warehouse Konzept zu erweitern und zu modernisieren. 

Die Grenzen klassischer Data Warehouses

Grenzen klassischer Data Warehouses

Konfrontiert mit extrem hohen Datenvolumina kann die Skalierung eines DWH sehr schwierig sein. Verwenden Unternehmen eine kommerzielle Datenbanksoftware, kann die Speicherung zudem hohe Lizenzkosten nach sich ziehen. Das schreckt viele Unternehmen ab, weshalb sie ihre Daten nicht analysieren und das Wissen darin nicht nutzen.

Weil immer mehr Daten in nicht standardisierten Formaten in den Mittelpunkt des Analyseinteresses rücken, stoßen relationale Datenbanken schnell an ihre Grenzen.

Um den gestiegenen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, kommen neue Technologien ins Spiel.

Data Warehouse Modernisierung mit Data Vault

Data Vault ist die aktuelle Antwort auf viele Herausforderungen vor denen Data Warehouse (DWH) Architekten stehen, denn die innovative Data Warehouse-Modellierung verspricht wieder zeitgerechte Entwicklungen bzw. ein optimiertes time-to-market.

Vor allem Unternehmen, die große Datenvolumen in kurzer Zeit laden müssen sowie Unternehmen, die ihre Business Intelligence-Applikationen agil entwickeln, profitieren sehr stark von der Data Vault-Methodik.

Der Business-Value des Data Vault-Konzepts:

  • Massive Reduzierung der Entwicklungszeit bei der Implementierung von Business-Anforderungen
  • Schnellerer Return of Investment bei DWH-Aufbau/-Modernisierung
  • Verwaltung und Einhaltung von Compliance-Anforderungen (Basel, BCBS 239, u.a.)
  • 100%-ige Auditfähigkeit durch Historisierung und Nachvollziehbarkeit aller Daten bis zum Quellsystem
  • Stichtagsbezogene Auswertungen: Daten aus dem Altbestand können zum gewünschten Stichtag dargestellt/ wiederhergestellt werden. Berichtsstände können miteinander verglichen werden.

Um die Vorteile von Data Vault zu nutzen, ist es nicht notwendig eine existierende Data Warehouse-Architektur komplett neu aufzubauen. Es gibt die Möglichkeit, neue Aspekte einer Data Warehouse-Lösung mit Konzepten und Methoden des Data Vault aufzubauen, ohne die existierenden Bestandteile zu verlieren. Durch eine klare Zuordnung, welche Bereiche wo in der Architektur angesiedelt sind, ist dies machbar. Auch das partielle Anwenden von Data Vault ist möglich.

Data Warehouse in der Cloud

Treiber für eine Data Warehouse Modernisierung (DWH) sind ein sich veränderndes Technologieumfeld (z.B. Cloud) sowie steigende Anforderungen an die Unternehmen und damit an das DWH durch die digitale Transformation.
 
In unserem Webinar gehen wir auf das Modernisierungs-Szenario Cloud Migration ein. Anhand von Demos zeigen wir Ihnen, wie man SAP Daten extrem einfach in die Cloud Data Plattform Snowflake migriert und im Anschluss regelmäßig belädt.
 
Als Datenintegration und Datenmanagementsoftware kommt Pentaho zum Einsatz. Der Vorteil dieses Tools liegt unter anderem in den visuell (Drag & Drop) parametrisierbaren ETL Steps. Für die Connectivität zwischen SAP und Pentaho sorgt der Hitachi Data Connector for SAP, der von it-novum als Plugin für Pentaho entwickelt wurde.
 
Als Cloud Data Warehouse wurde Snowflake aus folgenden Gründen gewählt:

  • Cloud Data Warehouse: Als SQL-basiertes DWH von Stunde eins an für die Cloud konzipiert
  • Data Lake: Als komfortable Hadoop Alternative Verarbeitung von strukturierten und semi-strukturierten Daten
  • Data Sharing: Sicherer und beherrschbarer interner Datenaustausch und für die externe Monetarisierung
  • Skalierbarkeit: Durch Trennung von Compute und Storage flexible und Usecase bezogene Verteilung der Ressourcen
  • Kosteneffizient: Perfekte Alternative für traditionelle Enterprise Datenbanklösungen

Setzen Sie Ihr Snowflake Projekt mit
it-novum um.

Download

 

 

Buchen Sie Ihr persönliches Online Meeting zum Thema Modernisierung von Datenarchitekturen

Machen Sie Ihr Data Warehouse fit für die Herausforderungen von morgen! Erreichen Sie Agilität, Skalierbarkeit und Flexibilität - und all das innerhalb Ihres Budgets.

Ihr Nutzen

Data Warehouse

ganzheitlicher Blick auf die Unternehmensdaten 

Auswertungen auf einer integrierten Datenbasis

Zeitersparnis durch einheitlichen Datenzugriff

automatisierte und standardisierte Berechnung von Kennzahlen

Wissensgewinn durch Verknüpfung von Informationen (Data Mining)

Unternehmensdaten über Zeitreihen vergleichbar

Data Vault

Time Traveling (stichtagsbezogene Auswertungen)

Auditierfähigkeit durch Historisierung aller im DWH gespeicherten Informationen

Near-Real-Time Beladung durch hohe Parallelisierbarkeit

Nahtlose Integration von NoSQL/unstrukturierten Daten

Datenmodell einfach für alle Themenbereiche erweiterbar

Wenige, automatisierbare ETL Patterns

Unsere Leistungen

Konzeption und Modellierung eines Data Warehouse

Als erfahrener Dienstleister im BI-Umfeld nutzen wir Pentaho Data Integration (PDI) für die Entwicklung der notwendigen Extraktions-, Transformations- und Ladeprozesse (ETL-Prozesse), sowie auf Datenbankebene interessante Technologien wie NoSQL, PostgreSQL oder Neo4J. Mit diesem Technologie Stack können wir auch komplexe Anforderungen umsetzen.

Entwicklung, Bereitstellung und Betrieb von Data Vaults

Mit unserem Pentaho Data Vault Framework bieten wir eine schnelle und einfache Umsetzungsmöglichkeit eines Data Warehouse mit Data Vault. Damit sind Sie beim Aufbau eines agilen Data Warehouse 2-5x schneller. Sie sparen nicht nur Zeit, sondern sind auch schneller time-to-market.


Stefan Müller
Director Big Data Analytics & IoT

Planen Sie ein DWH-Projekt oder möchten Sie ihr Data Warehouse mit Data Vault modernisieren?


Anrede:

Vorname*:

Name*:

Firma*:

Job Titel*:

Telefon*:

Anliegen*:

Geschäftliche E-Mail*:

Pentaho von Hitachi Vantara ist die führende Software für Data Integration und Big Data Analytics. Hitachi Vantara bietet ein umfassendes Lösungsportfolio für Big Data, Internet der Dinge und Cloud. it-novum ist Hitachi Vantara-Partner für Big Data Insights and IoT sowie größter Pentaho Implementierungs- und Trainingspartner in EMEA.