Skip to main content

Customer Analytics

Virtuoso handling of customer data

Collecting customer data is getting easier and easier for companies. The current challenge, however, is the useful and profitable integration of this data into existing business processes.

Merging different data sources with Big Data data sources in a completely integrated environment such as Pentaho enables companies to gain a 360° view of their customers, on demand.

Today, 80% of all customer data comes from sources such as social media, blogs, forums, tweets, web shops and internet sites. Combining, enriching and permanently associating such structured and unstructured data from the Big Data pool with customers provides new insights into customer behaviour.

Having a 360° view means constantly keeping all data from all sources up to date and to a predefined quality and making this information available for use. The following information categories are of particular interest in customer analytics:

  • Customer characteristics (preferences, needs, desires)
  • Customer interactions (offers, click streams, notes)
  • Customer activity data (orders, payments, length of stay)
  • Data that describes the customer (special features, self-evaluations, demographics)

Companies that collect data aim to know "everything about each customer". The benefits of having such a 360° view of a customer can only be reaped, however, if we succeed in converting this knowledge into target-oriented measures and actions for every customer interaction. This can be achieved with customer analytics.

Practical tips for implementing a customer analytics project

Before any data can be analysed, it must first be extracted from the various source systems. And when consolidating data, it is important to remember that it can sometimes exist in heterogeneous structures. This is why structured data from operational systems such as a CRM system has to be combined with unstructured data from social media platforms, which in turn makes data processing and cleansing more complex.

Also, it should be ensured that customer data is always up to date so that up-to-date decisions can be made. It may even be necessary to process data in real time. It's also worth bearing in mind that in addition to the increased demands on data diversity and speed of processing, high data volumes also present a particular challenge to databases.

In order to deal successfully with such data volumes, an efficient data storage system – one that is scalable even with increasing data volumes – must be implemented. Predictive analytics models that recognise patterns in the data stock are necessary to be able to derive forecasts for future developments from the data pool.

Ultimately, it must also be possible to visualise the data volumes in a suitable form as part of any data analyses. To this end, dashboards or reports are available that, at a glance, provide users with information about customer behaviour.

Specific recommendations on technology for customer analytics use cases

The it-novum solution for realising customer analytics is a combination of the Pentaho BI Suite and services from the Hadoop ecosystem, with Pentaho (PDI) acting as the central control unit and interface to Hadoop. This enables interaction with Hadoop services such as HDFS or Spark to be simplified so that any programming effort involved is reduced to a minimum.

Extracting data from source systems

As mentioned above, data first has to be extracted from the source systems before it can be analysed. This is where Sqoop helps load structured data from relational tables into the Hadoop Cluster. For streaming applications, Flume, Kafka or Spark Streaming are available for accessing data in real time.

Consolidating data

After the data has been extracted successfully, it has to be consolidated. For the pre-processing and clean-up work, Hadoop uses frameworks such as Spark and MapReduce, which make it possible to realise distributed and scalable calculations across the entire cluster.

Storing data

When it comes to data storage, Hadoop provides services such as HDFS, HBase and Kudu for storing data across multiple cluster nodes. In doing this, special data formats such as Parquet or Avro are available that can efficiently compress data to save storage space.

Analysing data

The Spark and MapReduce frameworks can also be used to perform analyses on the files stored in the Hadoop Cluster. Hive and Impala also allow access via SQL queries – a functionality that allows you to perform analyses without the need for any programming.

Predictive analyses

If a predictive analytics application is required in conjunction with Hadoop, the Cloudera Data Science Workbench is recommended. It provides users with intuitive access to cluster resources as well as a development environment for various data science platforms such as Spark ML and TensorFlow.

Visualising data

The components of the Pentaho BI-Suite can be effectively used to visualise the data under review. Using the suite, individual reports and interactive dashboards can be created that support the user in evaluating customer data.

Benefits and applications

Three time-centred customer views

The Past: Evaluation and historicisation of past customer interactions

  • What did a particular customer buy and when?
  • Recognition of seasonal fluctuations e.g. regarding turnover
  • On-demand visualisation at a glance

    The Present: prompt reactions to current customer interactions

    • Collaborative filtering / recommender systems
                     o    Customers (with similar buying behaviours) also ordered...
                     o    Product X also goes well / works well with product Y...
                     o    Increase in cross-selling and upselling potential
    • Personalised offers tailored to the customer's needs
    • Improving customer service
    • Strengthening customer loyalty
    • Prioritisation of highly prized customers
    • Optimising customer acquisition
    • Improving brand perception

    The Future: Deriving future customer behaviour (predictive analytics)

    • Algorithmic pattern recognition based on historical data
    • Customer segmentation according to similarity of customer groups or other criteria (clustering)
    • Ranking the probability of customer churn (classification)
                     o    Proactive measures for keeping "at risk" customers
    • Forecasts on future customer sales developments (regression)
                     o    What is the expected next quarter turnover for customer X?

    The 360° view of the customer needs to be re-orchestrated

    Considering the broad range of sources as well as the large amount of data, a new approach to the technology-based "360° view of the customer" must be found.

    A crucial factor is having a professional master data management system for customer data. The use of metadata in this context is particularly important, because only by using this can customers be uniquely identified via the various contact channels. After all, customers want to know whether a site visitor, influencer, blogger or (re)tweeter is already known to them as a customer and, ideally, how profitable they are. To find this out, intelligent algorithms for customer identity resolution are needed, so that all available data – structured and unstructured – can be associated with the customer and analysed. This gives rise to the so-called "golden record": a dataset that covers all information about a customer and provides a 360° view of the customer at the customer data level.

    With the aid of customer master data management combined with customer analytics, the goal of making a digital customer's footprints readable and available for analysis can be achieved.

    Expert recommendation

    Before the data from the various sources is even processed, data quality management tools ensure that the data is clean and current. Right from the start, when information is being entered into the system, quality mechanisms are used that ensure the consistency of customer data across all data sources.

    Your advantages of having a 360° view of your customers

    Improved customer service and increased sales

    Lower churn rate

    Reduction in customer acquisition costs

    Increase in cross-selling and upselling potential

    Visible representation of how customers perceive your corporate brand

    Prioritisation of highly prized customers

    Our service: Providing added value with a Pentaho customer analytics solution

    • A single data pool containing all customer data makes fast queries possible
    • Business users find all key metrics in one central location
    • Joining up previously isolated data, avoiding selective integration
    • Combining traditional data sources with Big Data
    • Creating extensive analyses (visualisations, reports, dashboards, ad hoc analyses)
    • Embedded analytics, making operative information directly usable
    • Development of predictive analytics models for database pattern recognition

Skip to main content

Customer Analytics

Virtuoser Umgang mit Kundendaten

Customer Analytics

Für Unternehmen gestaltet sich das Sammeln von Kundendaten immer leichter. Die aktuelle Herausforderung besteht allerdings darin, diese Daten sinnvoll und gewinnbringend in die vorhandenen Geschäftsprozesse zu integrieren. 

Das Verbinden von verschiedenen Datenquellen mit Big Data-Datenquellen in einer vollständig integrierten Umgebung wie Pentaho versetzt Unternehmen in die Lage, um on-demand einen 360°-Grad-Blick auf ihre Kunden zu gewinnen.

360°-Sicht bedeutet, alle Daten aus allen Quellen permanent aktuell zu halten und in einer vorher festgelegten Qualität zur Verfügung zu stellen. Für den Bereich Kundenanalytik sind dabei folgende Informationskategorien besonders interessant:

  • Kundeneigenschaften (Vorlieben, Bedürfnisse, Wünsche)
  • Kundeninteraktionen (Angebote, Click Streams, Notizen)
  • Kundenhandlungsdaten (Bestellungen, Zahlungen, Verweildauer)
  • Daten, die den Kunden beschreiben (Besonderheiten, Selbstangaben, Demographie)

Ziel des datensammelnden Unternehmens ist, "alles über jeden Kunden“ zu wissen. Der Nutzen einer solchen 360°-Kundensicht stellt sich jedoch erst ein, wenn es gelingt, das Wissen über den Kunden bei jedem Kundenkontakt in zielführende Aktionen und Maßnahmen zu münzen. Dies gelingt mit Customer Analytics.

Praktische Hinweise für die Umsetzung eines Customer Analytics Projekts

Bevor mit der Analyse begonnen werden kann, müssen die Daten aus den verschiedenen Quellsystemen extrahiert werden. Bezüglich der Konsolidierung ist vor allem zu beachten, dass die Daten mitunter in heterogenen Strukturen vorliegen können. Daher müssen strukturiere Daten aus operativen Systemen wie bspw. CRM mit unstrukturierten Daten aus Social-Media Plattformen kombiniert werden, was wiederum die Komplexität im Rahmen der Aufbereitung und der Bereinigung des Datenbestandes erhöht.

Weiterhin sollte gewährleistet sein, dass die Kundendaten stets in aktueller Form vorliegen, um somit Entscheidungen auf dem neuesten Stand treffen zu können. Hierfür kann es sogar notwendig sein, dass die Daten in Echtzeit verarbeitet werden müssen.  Neben den erhöhten Anforderungen an die Datenvielfalt sowie Schnelligkeit der Verarbeitung, stellen vor allem die hohen Datenvolumina eine Herausforderung an Datenbanken.

Um erfolgreich mit solchen Datenaufkommen umgehen zu können, muss eine effiziente Speicherung der Daten implementiert werden, die auch bei ansteigenden Datenmengen skalierbar ist. Um aus dem Datenpool Prognosen über zukünftige Entwicklungen ableiten zu können, sind Predictive Analytics Modelle notwendig, welche Muster im Datenbestand erkennen.

Letztlich müssen die Datenmengen auch im Rahmen von Analysen in geeigneter Form visualisiert werden können. Hierfür bieten sich Dashboards oder Reports an, welche Anwendern auf einem Blick Auskunft über das Kundenverhalten geben.

Konkrete Technologieempfehlungen für den Customer Analytics Use-Case

Die it-novum Lösung zur Realisierung von Customer Analytics umfasst die Kombination der Pentaho BI Suite mit Diensten des Hadoop-Ökosystems. Pentaho (PDI) fungiert dabei als zentrale Steuereinheit und Schnittstelle zu Hadoop. Dadurch wird die Interaktion mit Hadoop-Diensten wie z.B. HDFS oder Spark vereinfacht, sodass der Programmieraufwand auf ein Minimum reduziert wird.

Datenextraktion aus Quellsystemen

Im ersten Schritt müssen Daten aus den Quellsystemen extrahiert werden. Sqoop hilft dabei strukturierte Daten aus relationalen Tabellen in das Hadoop Cluster zu laden. Für Streaming Anwendungen stehen Flume, Kafka oder Spark Streaming bereit, um Daten in Echtzeit abzugreifen.

Konsolidierung der Daten

Nach der erfolgreichen Extraktion müssen die Daten konsolidiert werden. Für die Vorverarbeitung und Bereinigung greift Hadoop auf Frameworks wie Spark und MapReduce zurück, welche verteilte und skalierbare Berechnungen über das gesamte Cluster hinweg realisieren können.

Speicherung der Daten

Bezüglich der Datenspeicherung stellt Hadoop Dienste wie HDFS, HBase und Kudu zur Verfügung, welche es erlauben, Daten über mehrere Cluster-Knoten verteilt abzulegen. Im Zuge dessen existieren außerdem spezielle Datenformate wie Parquet oder Avro, die Daten effizient komprimieren können, um Speicherplatz zu sparen.

Analyse der Daten

Zur Durchführung von Analysen auf den im Hadoop Cluster abgelegten Dateien können ebenfalls die Frameworks Spark und MapReduce eingesetzt werden. Hive und Impala ermöglichen weiterhin Zugriffe über SQL-Abfragen, womit Analysen ohne Programmieraufwand durchgeführt werden können.

Prediktive Analysen

Für Predictive Analytics Anwendungen in Verbindung mit Hadoop empfiehlt sich die Cloudera Data Science Workbench, welche einerseits Anwendern einen intuitiven Zugriff auf die Cluster-Ressourcen bietet und andererseits als Entwicklungsumgebung für verschiedenste Data Science Plattformen wie u.a. Spark ML und TensorFlow dient.

Visualisierung der Daten

Zur Visualisierung der Daten kann auf die Komponenten der Pentaho BI-Suite zurückgegriffen werden. So lassen sich individuelle Reports und interaktive Dashboards realisieren, welche den Anwender bei der Auswertung der Kundendaten unterstützt.

Sie haben Fragen zu Customer Analytics?

Dann wenden Sie sich jetzt an unsere Experten!

Anfrage Senden

Nutzen und Einsatzmöglichkeiten

Dargestellt vor dem Hintergrund der drei zeitlichen Sichten auf den Kunden:

A) Auswertung und Historisierung von vergangenen Kundeninteraktionen

  • Was hat ein bestimmter Kunden gekauft und wann?
  • Erkennen von saisonalen Schwankungen z.B. beim Umsatz
  • On-Demand Visualisierung auf einen Blick

B) Zeitnahe Reaktionen auf gegenwärtige Kundeninteraktionen

  • Kollaboratives Filtern / Empfehlungssysteme
                   o    Kunden (mit ähnlichem Kaufverhalten) bestellten außerdem noch …
                   o    Zum Produkt xyz passt außerdem das Produkt …
                   o    Steigerung von Up-Selling und Cross-Selling Potenzialen
  • Personalisierte auf die Bedürfnisse des Kunden zugeschnittene Angebote
  • Verbesserung des Kundenservices
  • Stärkung der Kundenbindung
  • Priorisierung von hochwertigen Kunden
  • Kundenakquise optimieren
  • Markenwahrnehmung verbessern

C) Ableitung des zukünftigen Verhaltens des Kunden (Predictive Analytics)

  • Algorithmen-gestützte Erkennung von Mustern auf Basis der historischen Daten
  • Kundensegmentierung nach Ähnlichkeit von Kundengruppen oder anderen Kriterien (Clustering)
  • Einstufung der Churn-Wahrscheinlichkeit von Kunden (Klassifikation)
                   o    proaktive Maßnahmen um „gefährdete“ Kunden zu halten
  • Prognosen über zukünftige Umsatzentwicklungen des Kunden (Regression)
                   o    Wie hoch wird der Umsatz mit dem Kunden xyz voraussichtlich im nächsten Quartal sein?

Die 360°-Kundensicht muss neu orchestriert werden

In Anbetracht des breiten Spektrums an Quellen sowie der großen Menge an Daten muss ein neuer Zugang für die technologiegestützte „360°-Kundensicht“  gefunden werden.

Entscheidend ist ein professionelles Stammdatenmanagement für die Kundendaten. Besonders wichtig ist in diesem Zusammenhang die Nutzung der Metadaten, denn nur damit können die Kunden über die verschiedenen Kontaktkanäle eindeutig identifiziert werden. Firmen wollen schließlich wissen, ob ein Websitebesucher, Influencer, Blogger oder (Re-)Tweeter bereits als Kunde bekannt ist  und idealerweise, wie hoch seine Profitabilität ist. Um das herauszufinden, bedarf es intelligenter Algorithmen zur Customer Identity Resolution, damit alle vorhandenen Daten – strukturiert und unstrukturiert – einem Kunden zugeordnet und analysiert werden können. So entsteht der sogenannte "Golden Record": ein Datensatz, der sämtliche Informationen zu einem Kunden umfasst, und die 360°-Kundensicht auf Kundendatensatzebene darstellt.

Mit Hilfe eines solchen Kundenstammdatenmanagements in Kombination mit Customer Analytics erreicht man das gesetzte Ziel, Spuren des digitalen Kunden für das Unternehmen lesbar und auswertbar zu machen.

Expertenempfehlung

Bevor die Daten aus den unterschiedlichsten Quellen überhaupt verarbeitet werden, sollten Datenqualitätsmanagementwerkzeuge für bereinigte und aktuelle Daten sorgen. Bereits bei der Datenerfassung müssen Qualitätsmechanismen greifen, die die Konsistenz der Kundendaten über alle Datenquellen hinweg sicherstellen.

Ihre Vorteile mit einer 360°-Sicht auf den Kunden

Verbesserung des Kundenservice und Umsatzsteigerung

Verringerte Churn Rate

Senkung der Kunden-Akquisitionskosten

Vergrößerung von Cross-Selling und Up-Selling Potenzialen

Visible Darstellung, wie Kunden die Unternehmensmarke wahrnehmen

Priorisierung von hochwertigen Kunden

Unsere Leistung: Erzeugung von Mehrwerten mit einer Pentaho Customer Analytics-Lösung

  • Ein einziger Datenpool mit allen Kundendaten ermöglicht schnelle Abfragen
  • Business-Anwender finden alle Kennzahlen an einem zentralen Ort vor
  • Verbindung von bislang isolierten Daten, Vermeidung von nur punktueller Integration
  • Kombination herkömmlicher Datenquellen mit Big Data
  • Erstellung umfangreicher Analysen (Visualisierungen, Reports, Dashboards, Ad hoc-Analysen)
  • Embedded Analytics, um Informationen auch operativ direkt nutzbar zu machen
  • Entwicklung von Predictive Analytics Modellen zur Erkennung von Mustern im Datenbestand

Sie haben Fragen zu Customer Analytics?

Dann wenden Sie sich jetzt an unsere Experten!

Anfrage Senden